Student Services

CWCTC furthers the assistance of learning to other programs as well, to make sure that every student feels heard and supported. Special Education Services Program aid students with disabilities that come from all walks of life. 

Special Education services are provided at Central Westmoreland CTC by five certificated Special Education Learning Facilitators. These Facilitators provide “push-in” services to CTE programs to provide both technical and academic support to student with disabilities as well as enhance the delivery of numeracy and literacy strategies. They support the instructors by helping them to understand and implement the IEP. Facilitators will also be available to provide “pull-out” services that are available and given in the Learning Resource Room (LRC) to assist students with their assigned technical content in addition to the core academic subjects as it relates to their technical program. Paraprofessionals within the CTE programs will augment this process to reinforce content area academic and technical skills.

Special Education Instructors

Gongaware, Barb  – Special Education
Phone extension: 1355
Email: bgongaware@cwctc.org

DeMaria, John – Special Education
Phone extension: 1396
Email: jdemaria@cwctc.org

Diehl, Gordon – Special Education
Phone extension: 1318
Email: gdiehl@cwctc.org

Long, Mark – Special Education
Phone extension: 1385
Email: mlong@cwctc.org

Saunders, Steven – Special Education
Phone extension: 1354
Email: ssaunders@cwctc.org

Special Education Learning Facilitators will utilize Waypoint Testing to assess the interests, skills and abilities of prospective students prior to enrollment to help provide the best and most appropriate placement into a CTE program. Upon enrollment, our facilitators play an active role in the IEP team by: monitoring and documenting their progress here at the CTC; attending IEP Meetings at the sending district or hosting them here at the CTC; and providing the case manager(s) with Special Needs Progress Reports at the mid-point of each marking period and communicating with them when there are problems.

The Student Assistance Program helps students overcome barriers to learning so that they achieve, remain in school, and advance. S.A.P. is an intervention program, not a treatment program, that integrates a process of information gathering, and referral through a core team. Confidentiality between all parties involved in the S.A.P. process shall be respected and maintained in the best interest of the student and in accordance with all State and Federal laws protecting the privacy rights of parents and students.
“It takes time to know children; it takes time to work with them…it takes time to think, to read, to visit, to discuss, to seek, to grow, and to continue to grow.”
– Vincent R. Rogers

Team Members

Rich Baur – rbaur@cwctc.org
Mikki Crist – mcrist@cwctc.org
John Demaria – jdemaria@cwctc.org
Jay Elder – jelder@cwctc.org
Meribeth Elder – melder@cwctc.org
Chelsea Herrle – cherrle@cwctc.org
Darius Kovacina – dkovacina@cwctc.org
Mark Long – mlong@cwctc.org
Darlene Patrick – dpatrick2@cwctc.org

  • National Domestic Hotline – (800) 799-7233
  • Crisis Text Line – Text HOME to 741741
  • Safe2Say – https://www.safe2saypa.org/ or 1-844-SAF2SAY (1-844-723-2729)
  • Childhelp National Child Abuse Hotline – 1-800-4ACHILD
  • SAMHSA Distress Helpline – 800-985-5990 or text “talk with us” to 66746
  • 211 – National Suicide Hotline
  • Crisis Textline – Text CONNECT to 741741
  • National Alliance of Mental Illness – 1-800-950-6264 (Monday – Friday, 10am to 6pm ET)
  • National Suicide Prevention Lifeline – 1-800-273-TALK (8255)
Announcements

Governor Wolf announced, and the Department of Health have implemented a mask mandate for all K-12 schools in Pennsylvania.  According to this mandate, which takes effect on Tuesday, September 7, 2021, all students, staff and visitors must wear a mask while in schools.  Therefore, masks will be required starting on Tuesday for all students, employees, and visitors that enter any Central Westmoreland CTC building.

For further details, please refer to CWCTC’s Administrative Director’s letter regarding CWCTC and the mask mandate.

With regard to educational and technical programming moving forward, any changes to our current five-day face-to-face model, will be communicated to staff and families, if and when, any changes are made. 

Thank you for your time and patience as we continue to navigate through this process.

Scroll to Top